• December 8, 2020 at 3:58 pm #3367
    Phoenix MoorePhoenix Moore
    Participant

Hey all, I’m a student and I have been instructed to try different kinds of traditional animation (pen and ink, cel-drawn, etc) I was wondering if there was anyway to rotoscope in Animation Paper, as it would mean I wouldn’t have to jump ship to another program. thanks all!
    – Azazel

December 8, 2020 at 4:26 pm #3368
    Niels Krogh MortensenNiels
    Keymaster

Hi Azazel!

Sure! Animation Paper has build-in reference layers! This is exactly what is needed for rotoscoping.

You make sure to have your video material saved out as a framestack of png images (soon Animation Paper will accept video files as well, but for now you’ll need a sequence of png’s).

When you import your reference (rotoscope) material into Animation Paper (select 1st png and shift-select last png to have all of them imported), it automatically adds a reference layer with your video material. You can then adjust the opacity of your ref-layer to your liking – and add normal layers on top for your rotoscope drawings.

Let me know if you have further questions!

Cheers,
    Niels

December 8, 2020 at 9:04 pm #3369
    Phoenix MoorePhoenix Moore
    Participant

i was wondering how to convert a video to png sequence? I’ve been trying to do it and I can’t figure out how to do it.
    thanks
    azazel

December 9, 2020 at 9:37 pm #3372
    Keymaster

You can find plenty of software that can do that – both paid and free.

If you don’t mind using commands in the console, I can highly recommend FFMPEG (https://ffmpeg.org – free and cross platform).

After you installed it, you can use a command like this (check out the documentation for tons of options and variations): ffmpeg -i “yourvideofile.mp4” “frame-%%03d.png”

This will produce a numbered sequence of png files, you can easily import into Animation Paper.

It is a bit technical, but it isn’t that difficult. And FFMPEG has sooo many capabilities.