• January 11, 2022 at 9:33 pm #4226
    Questions HereShebun
    Participant

I’ve read from this site (and learned the practical way) that AP isn’t really meant to handle a lot of lasso/select all/rescale/move around etc manipulation; or ‘borderline puppetry’ as i’ve heard it referred as.

I’m still starting out and have a hard time keeping believable consistency across different ‘camera scenes’ in my projects, so i often lasso and stick a bit of what i like into a new frame where i need it to be. I ‘trace’ the bits that i need if the frame i’m taking it from is about 2 frames apart from where i want it to be, some other times i take the frame which has the bit i need, copy that to one frame after where i want it to be, and then trace over that, then delete the copy. I’ve also found that lassoing and moving parts of frames pixel by pixel is the roughest, slowest but also reasonably effective way to test short tweens. So there’s no wonder that data piles up and projects take longer to respond.

So i was wondering, if or when AP will implement a way to reduce data clog created by lasso/select all borderline puppetry? Most drawing programs don’t get cloggy with that..

In the meantime, i’m wondering if anyone has any tips that would help with keeping beliavable consistency in animating without abusing the cutting tools? Beside just constantly flipping back and fro between frames, and the experience-knowledge that just comes after doing this stuff for years, i mean. I’ve tried using the grid feature, but the grids are not very easy to see and don’t really help when the scale or angle of the object should change.

One other question that’s not directly related, but still about a feature i’ve been wondering about but haven’t really seen explained recently… What does taking a frame off the peg do?

• This topic was modified 2 years, 3 months ago by Shebun.
    January 11, 2022 at 10:16 pm #4228
    Niels Krogh MortensenNiels
    Keymaster